Farao classics Logo
  Link Home
  Link About us
  Link Catalogue
  Link Artists
  Link Contact
  Link German Webpage
Order number B 108 036
J. Brahms, L. v. Beethoven: Cello Sonatas
Cover J. Brahms & L. v. Beethoven: Cello Sonatas


Price EUR 15,50

Download available:

Link zum iTunes Store
Franz Amann, cello
Wolfgang Sawallisch, piano

Johannes Brahms:
Sonate No. 2, F Major

for Cello and Piano, op. 99

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Sonate No. 3, A Major

for Cello and Piano, op. 69

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Sonate No. 5, D Major

for Cello and Piano, op. 102,2
Recordings of the Bavarian Broadcast
from 1978 and 1986.

A Cooperation with the Musikalische Akademie of the  Bavarian State Orchestra e.V.


(German, English)
· biographies

"For me as his solo cellist it was fascinating to see how the leader of the huge machinery called opera turned into a wonderfully sensitive duet and chamber music partner, who mastered the substantial pianistic challenges in a relaxed and joyful manner."
Franz Amann, former Solocellist
of the Bavarian State Orchestra

Wolfgang Sawallisch turned the Bavarian State Opera into one of the most important venues for Strauss and Wagner productions. The performance of both composers’ complete works was tremendously successful and attracted international attention.

In spite of his numerous commitments as a general music director, he always remained true to his passion – playing the piano. To this day, Wolfgang Sawallisch enjoys a very high reputation as a chamber music pianist and lied accompanist of top-rated singers.

Wolfgang Sawallisch and Franz Amann were frequent duo partners at sonata recitals. The maestro praised Amann’s spirit, his flawless intonation, and his sensitive musical charisma.

To celebrate Wolfgang Sawallisch’s 85th birthday, the Bavarian State Opera commemorates the creative co-operation of these two exceptional artists with recordings of the cello sonatas from the years 1978 and 1986.
Prices include 19% VAT
*Shipment costs EUR 3,90 (worldwide)
Above an order quantity of EUR 30,00 shipment is free (worldwide)

> other chamber music recordings

> to the top

All titles can be previewed (30 sec.) on the iTunes Store.

"[…] Sawallisch demonstrates an innate sensitivity as an accompanist and equal partner in three of the most significant sonatas in the cello and piano repertoire […] … Amann's playing is technically and musically superb, with meticulous intonation; clean, unsullied shifts; and a brilliant sense of line. …"
www.allmusic.com, Mike D. Brownell, 2009