Order number: B 108 091
Price € 15,00
Shipment costs € 3,90 (worldwide)
free above € 30,00 order
Download available:
HIGHRESAUDIO
hd-klassik
Order number: B 108 091

Strauss | Eine Alpensinfonie (CD)

Göteborgs Symfoniker - Kent Nagano

Recorded at the Gothenburg Concert Hall, November 2014


  • Göteborgs Symfoniker (orchestra)
  • Kent Nagano (conductor)
  • Kent Nagano, the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and Richard Strauss

    ECHO Klassik 2017

    Kent Nagano and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra first became acquainted in 1993, when they worked together on Mahler's Third Symphony. Love was immediate and Kent Nagano conducted the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra regularly over the next decades.

    When Kent Nagano was appointed as Principal Guest Conductor starting in the autumn of 2013, one of the ideas turned into a project: performing and recording major orchestral works of Richard Strauss in connection with the composer’s 150th anniversary in 2014.
    Having worked for a long time as Music Director of the Bayerische Staatsoper, Kent Nagano has unique insights into Strauss’s music and the Strauss tradition, and can draw on information from authentic sources within the Strauss family. 
    What is perhaps less known is that the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra also has a solid Richard Strauss tradition. The orchestra already performed “Don Juan” in its inaugural season 1905-1906; it has been played more than 50 times since then. Under Wilhelm Stenhammar, the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra played “Macbeth” (1908) and “Tod und Verklärung” (1913), as well as the overture to “Guntram” and “Till Eulenspiegel” (1913). 
    After Stenhammar’s period as Principal Conductor of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, several of his later successors championed the music of Richard Strauss: Sergiu Comissiona (“Don Quixote”), Sixten Ehrling (“Ein Heldenleben”) and Charles Dutoit (“Don Juan”). Neeme Järvi and Gustavo Dudamel had a particular affinity with “Don Juan”, and Dudamel also conducted “Ein Heldenleben”. 
    “Eine Alpensinfonie”, the last of Strauss’s large orchestral pieces, entered the orchestra's repertoire with Otmar Suitner in 1975, and since then has been one of the most popular pieces with both the orchestra and its audience. Neeme Järvi took it to the UK and Estonia (1999) and Gustavo Dudamel conducted it five times in Sweden (2007).

    The orchestra was thus technically and musically familiar with the splendid score when performances were scheduled with Kent Nagano in 2014, including this recording.

    For these performances and recording a new approach was taken. Conductor and orchestra wished to express not the bombastic aspects, but the subtle emotional changes, the colours and nuances of the vast and impressive landscape and the wanderer’s instinctive reaction to it, which is also expressed in the enormous orchestral apparatus. This was made possible only by the long and searching work orchestra and conductor carried out together over the years, which made possible new shades and depths in the re-creation of this magnificent piece of art.




    Conductor Kent Nagano, horn player Lisa Ford and producer Felix Gargerle presented The Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra's recording of Richard Strauss' "Eine Alpensinfonie" at a Hi-Fi Scenen pre-listening session held at the Gothenburg Concert Hall. We sat down with Lisa and Felix to talk about the recording, sound quality and the future of classical music.

Bestellnummer: B 108 091
Preis € 15,00
Versandkosten € 3,90 (weltweit)
versandkostenfrei ab € 30,00
Download erhältlich:
HIGHRESAUDIO
hd-klassik
Bestellnummer: B 108 091

Richard Strauss | Eine Alpensinfonie (CD)

Göteborgs Symfoniker - Kent Nagano

Aufgenommen im Göteborger Konzerthaus, November 2014

CD


  • Göteborgs Symfoniker (Orchester)
  • Kent Nagano (Dirigent)
  • Kent Nagano, die Göteborger Symphoniker und Richard Strauss

    ECHO Klassik 2017  Dirigent des Jahres - Kent Nagano






    1993 lernten sich Kent Nagano und die Göteborger Symphoniker zum ersten Mal kennen, sie erarbeiteten gemeinsam Mahlers dritte Symphonie. Daraus entstand eine unmittelbare Zuneigung, und Kent Nagano dirigierte das Orchester in den folgenden Jahrzehnten regelmäßig. 


    Als Kent Nagano im Herbst 2013 zum Ersten Gastdirigenten ernannt wurde, wurde eine weitere Idee umgesetzt: Die Aufführung und Aufzeichnung der großen Orchesterwerke von Richard Strauss anlässlich seines 150. Geburtstages des Komponisten im Jahr 2014. 
    Als langjähriger GMD der Bayerischen Staatsoper verfügt Kent Nagano über ein einzigartiges Verständnis für die Musik von Strauss, für die Strauss-Tradition sowie über authentische Quellen innerhalb der Familie Strauss.
    Weniger bekannt ist, dass auch die Göteborger Symphoniker über eine beachtliche Strauss-Tradition verfügen: Bereits in seiner ersten Konzertsaison 1905/1906 spielte das Orchester „Don Juan“; das Stück wurde seither 50 Mal aufgeführt. Unter Wilhelm Stenhammar spielten die Göteborger Symphoniker „Macbeth“ (1908), „Tod und Verklärung“ (1913) und die Ouvertüre zu „Guntram“ sowie „Till Eulenspiegel“ (1913). 
    Nach Stenhammars Ära als Erster Dirigent der Göteborger Symphoniker machten sich mehrere seiner Nachfolger stark für die Musik von Richard Strauss: Sergiu Comissiona („Don Quixote“), Sixten Ehrling („Ein Heldenleben“) und Charles Dutoit („Don Juan“). Neeme Järvi und Gustavo Dudamel hatten eine besondere Affinität zu „Don Juan“ und Dudamel dirigierte zudem „Ein Heldenleben“. 
    „Eine Alpensinfonie“, das letzte von Strauss’ großen Orchesterwerken, kam 1975 mit Otmar Suitner ins Repertoire und ist seither eines der beliebtesten Stücke des Orchesters und Publikums geworden. Neeme Järvi brachte es nach Großbritannien und Estland (1999) und Gustav Dudamel dirigierte es fünf mal in Schweden (2007).


    Das Orchester war deshalb technisch und musikalisch bereits vertraut mit dieser grandiosen Partitur, als im Jahr 2014 die Aufführungen mit Kent Nagano angesetzt wurden, inklusive dieser CD-Produktion.


    Für diese Aufführungen und die Aufnahme wurde ein neuer Ansatz entwickelt. Dirigent und Orchester wollten dabei nicht das Bombastische ausdrücken, sondern die feinen emotionalen Veränderungen, die Farben und Schattierungen der gewaltigen und eindrucksvollen Landschaft sowie die instinktiven Reaktionen des Wanderers darauf, die sich auch im gewaltigen Orchesterapparat widerspiegeln. Das alles wurde ermöglicht durch die lange und gründliche Arbeit, die Orchester und Dirigent im Lauf der Jahre auf sich genommen haben, und die die neuen Abstufungen und Tiefen bei der Neuschaffung dieses fantastischen Kunstwerkes erst möglich gemacht haben.