Order number: B 108 106
Price € 17,50
Shipment costs € 3,90 (worldwide)
free above € 30,00 order
Download available:
Order number: B 108 106

X-Mas Contemporary

Dietrich Henschel - Vladimir Jurowski - Simone Rubino

Recorded at Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, 2018 (contemporary) and Bavaria Musikstudios München, 2019 (percussive)


  • CD 1
  • 12 new compositions for baritone and chamber orchestra

  • 1. Karim Al-Zand: The Mistletoe
  • 2. Jamie Man: GEBURT (text: Peter Stamm)
  • 3. Matan Porat: Puppenhaus
  • 4. Manfred Trojahn: Christmas Greetings from a Fairy to a child
  • 5. Annette Schlünz: La Blancheur abolit le temps
  • 6. José M. Sánchez-Verdú: White Silence
  • 7. Detlev Glanert: Stille
  • 8. Olga Rayeva: Sotto voce
  • 9. Michèle Reverdy: Soixante et quelques mains pour la Nativité
  • 10. Jobst Liebrecht: CHRISTMAS / weihnacht
  • 11. Arno Waschk: Fest Fest
  • 12. Vanessa Lann: Tree of Life So Green
  • CD 2
  • 12 traditional Christmas carols for baritone, percussion, celesta and piano

  • 1. Ich steh an deiner Krippen hier
  • 2. In dulci jubilo
  • 3. Süßer die Glocken nie klingen
  • 4. Kommet ihr Hirten
  • 5. Es kommt ein Schiff geladen
  • 6. Lobt Gott, ihr Christen alle gleich
  • 7. Maria durch ein Dornwald ging
  • 8. Ihr Kinderlein kommet
  • 9. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme
  • 10. O Tannenbaum
  • 11. Vom Himmel hoch da komm ich her
  • 12. O Du fröhliche

  • Dietrich Henschel (baritone)
  • ensemble unitedberlin (ensemble )
  • Vladimir Jurowski (conductor)
  • Simone Rubino (percussion)
  • 24 Christmas carols of the 21st century

    12 new compositions for baritone and chamber orchestra 
    by Karim Al-Zand, Detlev Glanert, Vanessa Lann, Jobst Liebrecht, Jamie Man, Matan Porat, Olga Rayeva, Michèle Reverdy, Annette Schlünz, José M. Sánchez-Verdú, Manfred Trojahn, Arno Waschk

    12 traditional Christmas carols for baritone, percussion, celesta and piano 
    arranged by Simone Rubino and Dietrich Henschel

    What does Christmas mean to you?
    This question was posed by Dietrich Henschel to 12 composers from different countries and cultures with the request to create a work for voice and ensemble depicting in music whatever they associate with Christmas. They were free to choose whether religion or tradition played a role. An objective view, criticism and satire were all possible. As was to be expected, the responses were all very different.

    The ensemble unitedberlin, with its artistic advisor, Vladimir Jurowski, was immediately up for this totally new approach to a Christmas project: “We see ourselves as kinds of gallerists of the musical avant-garde – with the ambition of creating an advantageous situation for creators and recipients.” Andreas Bräutigam, founding member and violinist

    The 12 modern Christmas carols are followed by 12 traditional ones.
    Arranged by Simone Rubino and Dietrich Henschel for baritone, percussion, celesta and piano. The selection of percussion instruments is exuberant and crazy: marimba, vibraphone, thai gongs, japanese drum, crotales, bass drum, congas, rototoms, gongs, timbal, snare drum, ocean drum, cymbal, carillon, cow bells, bicycle bell, axe and saw, as well as stones and shells.

    Thoughts from Simone Rubino on the arrangements:
    From Heaven Above to Earth I Come “So, someone comes down from above to us down here. He brings new tidings, so many and so beautiful that he is very excited. That is a perfect storyboard for a new musical interpretation!” The Bells Never Sound Sweeter “I think you don’t have to say much more to a percussionist … It is allowed to sound very sweet, but has to have a bit of spice, like gingerbread."

    X-Mas Contemporary & Percussive is an album for those who likes musical surprises, reflective moments and intensive sound attacks!

    Press review

    De Volkskrant

    Dietrich Henschels charismatische zang is de bindende factor op dit gevarieerde kerstalbum.
    Merlijn Kerkhof, 12 december 19